10 Unexpected Places Gluten is Hiding
June 27th, 2017
If you’re reading this article then I’m guessing you have made the commitment to ditch gluten from your diet, bravo! Ditching gluten is the most important step you can take in restoring your health, particularly if you have an autoimmune disease, or Hashimoto’s, Graves, or any other thyroid condition.
That’s because it causes leaky gut, increases your inflammation, and can cause your own body to attack itself. Gluten fuels the fire of chronic and inflammatory disease, and removing it permanently from your diet will make a big difference in your symptoms, flare ups, and overall health.
However, thanks to our modern food system and all of the additives put into our products, gluten can often sneak its way on to and into our bodies if we aren’t on the lookout!
I personally have been fooled a time or two, which is why I want to share my list of 10 unexpected places gluten is hiding. I hope the list below will help arm you with the right resources to stay healthy, happy, and gluten free.
1. Body and beauty products
Lipstick, toothpaste, body lotion, shampoo, soap, conditioner, baby powder and sunscreen can all contain gluten. Because of this, I stick with beauty brands that are committed to offering both gluten-free and toxin-free products!
2. Medications, supplements and herbal formulas
Many of these have fillers like dextrin, which can come from corn or wheat. There are several websites, such as this one, that list gluten-free medications.
All of the supplements that I carry in my online store are verified gluten-free by 3rd party testing. If you are purchasing supplements elsewhere, always be sure to check labels carefully!
3. Play-Doh and paints
Play-Doh is made from wheat flour, salt and water, and many paints also have wheat-derived ingredients.
4. Sauces and condiments
Ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, tomato sauce, gravy and salad dressings can all contain gluten.
5. Scrambled eggs
Some restaurants add pancake batter to make eggs, or buy packaged egg products that already contain batter in order to make the eggs fluffier. The waiter, or even chef, may be unaware they’re using a product that contains wheat or gluten, so make sure to ask questions!
6. Stamps and envelopes
The adhesive that makes stamps and envelopes stick can come from gluten. I always use a sponge to dampen the envelope seal or use self adhering kind.
7. Luncheon meats, crab and vegan meat substitutes
Wheat can be used a filler in luncheon meats, and of course most beef jerky contains soy sauce. The “crab meat” used in many sushi rolls, like California rolls, is imitation crabmeat and contains wheat as a stabilizer. Many vegan “meats” and veggie burgers are either made from wheat or contain one of the troublesome 20 ingredients.
Beer contains gluten, of course, but distilled liquors such as vodka can also be made from wheat. Depending on your sensitivity, you may need to steer clear of these. I recommend eliminating alcohol entirely during the first 30 days on any of my programs or until your symptoms have resolved. However, if you have eliminated your symptoms and want to enjoy alcohol occasionally, I usually stick with tequila.
9. Mashed potatoes
Flour is sometimes added to thicken mashed potatoes.
You must read the ingredients! Licorice and many other solid candies are made from wheat flour.
Interested in FREE Gut Recovery Tips and Recipes?
Download my 35 Gut Recovery Recipes eBook to discover my four-step approach to repairing a leaky gut and get 35 amazingly delicious gluten-free recipes. It also includes gut healthy swap outs for common inflammatory foods and an explanation of how gluten can cause your body to attack itself.
Click here to download!